Tags

, , , ,

As this is my first post here I’ll refrain from anything too heavy. I have some thoughts swirling in my mind that will become posts in the near future, but for now I’ll give a brief synopsis of my relationship with literature.

I’ve been reading for as long as I can remember, and writing since I was nine. I spent a large part of my teenage years hiding in my bedroom and, for a semester after switching schools, in the library at lunchtime ensconced in a book. I started a degree in English four years ago, which was a combination of great fun and hard work – rather like writing, in fact. It did kill my desire to read and write for a while, because when I’ve spent all day reading books and writing about them the last thing I want to do is crawl into bed with another book. In spite of this, I grew as a reader and writer in my four years as a student, and now that I’ve graduated I can apply the skills I acquired to reading and writing fantasy. Fantasy has always been my chief domain, though I’ve encountered wonderful books in all genres, and I am quite fond of such poets as T. S. Eliot, Robin Robertson, and Sylvia Plath.

This was hardly the most exciting thing you’ve ever read, but I promise the next entry will be more interesting!

© Nicola Hastings, 2011.

