Where do books make you want to travel?

I saw this meme on Jodie Llewellyn’s blog this morning and I’ve been thinking about it all day, so I had to post on it. There are two places that have been captured on film in adaptations of books that I would love to visit:

New Zealand

Rohan
© Phillip Capper. Licenced under Creative Commons.

Tolkien is known for his flowery descriptions of scenery, and the films do not disappoint. Middle-earth on screen is absolutely breathtaking, and places New Zealand on my list of places to visit.

Dubrovnik, Croatia

©Edwardwexler
© Edwardwexler. Licenced under Creative Commons.

I’m not a huge Game of Thrones fan, but I would love to visit King’s Landing.

Truthfully, though, there aren’t a whole lot of real-life places I want to visit thanks to books. I read a lot of fantasy, though, and there are plenty of fantastical locations I would love to visit, the top two being:

Hogwarts

Hogwarts
© David R. Tribble. Licenced under Creative Commons.

Harry Potter has long been my favourite book series, and a large part of that is because of the sheer vibrancy of the Wizarding World.

Middle-earth

Lorien
© Matěj Čadil. Licenced under Creative Commons.

When I was thirteen I wanted to paint my bedroom walls silver and the ceiling gold, and get a gold carpet so my room could (vaguely) resemble Lothlórien. True story. There’s just something about the juxtaposition of the ethereal and mundane; it’s a forest, but unlike any forest on the earth.

What places from books, real and imaginary, do you want to visit?

One thought on “Where do books make you want to travel?

  1. “There’s just something about the juxtaposition of the ethereal and mundane; it’s a forest, but unlike any forest on the earth.”

    This is close to being a poem for me. As for places I would like to travel to? I need to ponder a while.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

