Tags

, , , , ,

This is a feature I’ve been meaning to add to this blog for a while. I read a lot of bookish blogs and sites, and I’d like a place to share some of my favourite posts. So without further ado, here’s my first literary linking post:

From the Scottish Book Trust, How to get agents and publishers to read your book. I’m not nearly at this stage yet in my writing life, but I find it reassuring to read things like this because feeling as though I know what I’m going to do when I do finish my book takes away some of the fears I have about writing.

From Nicola Morgan at An Awfully Big Blog Adventure, Why fund libraries when it’s all online? My local library was my saviour when I was unemployed, and now it helps me avoid taking out a second mortgage on my flat to support my book habit. My love for libraries goes way back, though; I don’t remember a time in my life when the library wasn’t a regular fixture. I wouldn’t be where I am today without the rich variety of books from the public library for the reasons Nicola discusses in her post, and I was one of the fortunate children who grew up in a house full of books with parents who supported my reading habits.

From Vox, How to get kids to read – let them pick their own damn books. Big surprise, kids won’t necessarily like the books you think they should read and, as Nicola pointed out in the previous link, liking books is essential to putting in the practice required to develop skills as a reader. I remember quite vividly my grade 5 year. I was already a big reader, but many of my classmates were not. When my teacher found students were unenthused by the books on the reading list, she scrapped the list and picked books she thought we’d actually like. And you know what? That year stands out as the year that kids in my class liked reading. No, she didn’t let us pick whatever we wanted to read, but she chose books like Susan Cooper’s The Dark is Rising, books we would have likely picked out ourselves, and, while we had assignments and book reports and all those other things students have to do in elementary school language arts classes, the starting point for her was books we would like.

That’s all for now. I hope you’ve found some of these links interesting, inspiring or helpful.

