Top Ten Tuesday – All-Time Favourites

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s TTT calls for All Time Favourite Books from the past three years. A lot of my favourites are series, so I’m going to lump each of them together or I’ll list three trilogies and already be at nine books.

Throne_of_Glass_UK1. Throne of Glass series, by Sarah J. Maas. Love love LOVE this series. I love Celaena as a protagonist, both because her interest in fashion and cosmetics doesn’t detract from her skills as an assassin and because she showed me that a character doesn’t need to be likeable to be sympathetic. And the king is a deliciously creepy villain.

SS&D2. Something Strange and Deadly trilogy, by Susan Dennard. Steampunk and zombies, oh my! I think my favourite part of this trilogy is Eleanor’s character development; although she’s never fully felt as though she fit in in polite society, she goes from hiding and trying to fit in to relishing in her uniqueness.

The Cuckoo's Calling3. The Cuckoo’s Calling and The Silkworm, by Robert Galbraith. Okay, I’m a huge JK Rowling fangirl, so she could have puked on the page and I’d praise it, but I really did love this book and its sequel, The Silkworm.

Legend_Marie_Lu_Book_cover4. Legend trilogy, by Marie Lu. I reviewed this one recently, but, basically, this series is awesome.

These Broken Stars5. These Broken Stars, by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner. I actually kind of read this one accidentally. There were two books I’d seen mentioned several times around the YA SF/F blogosphere. Somehow I got them mixed up a bit in my mind and thought this one was about faeries when I reserved it at the library. I can’t even remember the name of that other one, and I’m sure it’s a very good book, but I’m glad for the mistake because I probably wouldn’t have picked These Broken Stars up otherwise, as I’m not really a romance person. It’s brilliant, though. The world-building is excellent and I’m keen to read the sequel, although it doesn’t feature the same characters.

City_of_Bones6. The Mortal Instruments, by Cassandra Clare. I’m kind of cheating with this one, because the first book in the series came out in 2007, but the last one was released this past May, so I’m counting it. Again, world-building, characters. These are the things I love. And good prose. But I’ll settle for not overusing sentence fragments. That’s not a problem with TMI though, as Clare tends towards Rowling-esque long sentences and full description.

jim-butcher-storm-front7. The Dresden Files, by Jim Butcher. Again, the series started well before three years ago (2000, if I’m not mistaken), but it’s still running, with the most recent installment coming out last May. Dresden’s a great narrator, his sarcasm and snark keeping his self-deprecation from becoming too grim. The first two or three books in the series are mediocre, but it really hits its stride by book four.

cinder-marissa-meyer8. The Lunar Chronicles, by Marissa Meyer. I love the blend of science fiction and fantasy in this series. Each novel is a retelling of a fairytale, but they’re set in the future: Cinderella becomes a cyborg mechanic while Rapunzel becomes a computer programmer. The Lunars resemble mythical faeries, with their glamours and mind-control, but there’s a pseudoscientific explanation, not a magical one. Besides the way the novels play with the boundaries between science fiction and fantasy, I also love how each novel is a discrete fairytale but also an essential element of the overall story.

I’m having trouble coming up with another two books/series, even if I extend it to five years. As it is, several of my choices only qualify if I take the date of the last/most recent installment. The fact is, I don’t really know if a book will really be an all-time favourite till I’ve read it several times over the course of several years. At any rate, these are all books I’m loving right now and don’t see myself ceasing to love anytime soon.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – All-Time Favourites

  1. I’m SUCH a huge Cassandra Clare fan! I only started reading her books last year and read all of The Mortal Instruments. This year I want to eat the Infernal Devices. THEN SHE NEEDS TO WRITE MORE BECAUSE I LOVE HER BOOKS SO MUCH!! hehe. Also Sarah J Maas. *nods* She is a writer queen although the cliffhanger of Heir of Fire has left me giddy. I neeeed to know what happens next before I explode. Here’s my TTT!

    Like

    1. You know how disappointed I was when I found out that the first book in The Dark Artifices isn’t coming out till 2016? Answer: About as disappointed as I was when I found out Queen of Shadows is coming out TEN WHOLE DAYS later in the UK than in the US D;

      Like

  2. We have the same 1st book and the 10th book. Haha! I love how things coincide sometimes. I am such a huge fan of the Throne of Glass series, even though I haven’t read Heir of Fire. The first book was good, had a bit of issues to it. BUT, the second book overshadowed the weaknesses I saw in the first installment. And from then on, I called myself a fan. :3

    Like

    1. For some reason most of the books I read these days are series, and because there’s an overarching story I can never really isolate a single book within a series as my favourite, so it was this or only list three series!

      Like

    1. Oh, you’ve got The Raven Boys on your list! That one’s near the top of my TBR now. My mum actually had it out of the library last time I was home but I thought it was a paranormal romance based on the blurb and I’m not a huge fan of that genre (In the absence of dangers like vampires and megalomaniacs, I find it hard to care about the characters enough to ship them. I think I might have anti-social tendencies). Then I read that it’s actually urban fantasy with romance elements, which IS a genre I like. So, now it’s on my TBR.

      Like

  3. Awesome list! Legend, Cinder, and City of Bones are such awesome reads! I need to pick up the rest of the series though for all of them. I’ve been meaning to check out Throne of Glass… it sounds really awesome! I hope you have a great week. 🙂
    Krystianna @ Downright Dystopian

    Like

    1. It’s funny, even though these books are a completely different genre from Harry Potter, you can *tell* it’s the same author. I can’t wait for the third book!

      Like

Leave a Reply

