Tags

,

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Ten Books You Recently Added to Your TBR. In order from most recent to least recent addition, then, here are the ten most recent books I added to my TBR:

A Thousand Nights1. A Thousand Nights, by E. K. Johnston. I loved The Story of Owen and can’t wait to read Prairie Fire, so I’m excited to see something new from E. K. Johnston. Like The Story of Owen, it’s a story about a storyteller, though unlike The Story of Owen I do not expect to see references to the QEW and CN Tower (which, by the way, is rather surreal; I expect references to the Golden Gate Bridge or Big Ben in fiction, but the landmarks of my own childhood rarely appear in fiction).

The Heart of Betrayal2. The Heart of Betrayal, by Mary E. Pearson. I recently read and loved The Kiss of Deception (review coming on Thursday), so I’m very keen to read the next book in the series.

But n Ben A-Go-Go3. But n Ben A-Go-Go, by Matthew Fitt. A cyber-punk novel written entirely in Scots. Need I say more?

The Memory-Keepers4. The Memory Keepers, by Natasha Ngan. I find the premise of this book fascinating. Memories are such personal, unique things; what happens when they no longer are?

Lair of Dreams5. Lair of Dreams, by Libba Bray. I read The Diviners a while ago and had no idea there was a sequel in the works until a couple of days ago. I loved the paranormal 1920s world of the first novel, so I’m looking forward to visiting it again in the sequel.

Liars, Inc6. Liars, Inc., by Paula Stokes. As with The Memory Keepers, I’m intrigued by this novel’s concept.

Midnight Thief7. Midnight Thief, by Livia Blackburn. I love protagonists who are thieves, assassins and other criminals, because they should be so horrifically unlikeable and yet I still find myself sympathising with them and rooting for them.

Persona8. Persona, by Genevieve Valentine. Again, it’s the concept of this novel that I find fascinating, taking the celebrity ambassadors so many real-world causes and organisations employ to a terrifying conclusion.

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda9. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, by Becky Albertalli. I’m not usually a big contemporary fan, and especially not high school drama-type stories, but I’ve read a lot of good things about this book and it looks really good.

Ink and Ashes10. Ink and Ashes, by Valynne E. Maetani. This is another contemporary novel, though it’s more mystery/thriller, but, again, it looks really interesting and I’m looking forward to reading it.

