Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is inspiring quotes from books. I actually only have five, but they’re all beloved.

20140817_1946131. ‘I am going to rattle the stars.’ – Heir of Fire, by Sarah J. Maas. This is actually the line Sarah used when she signed my copy of Heir of Fire. *insert fangirl squeal here*

2. ‘Many that live deserve death. And some that die deserve life. Can you give it to them? Then do not be too eager to deal out death in judgement. For even the very wise cannot see all ends.’ – The Fellowship of the Ring, by J. R. R. Tolkien.

3. ‘I’d rather die on an adventure than live standing still.’ – A Darker Shade of Magic, by V. E. Schwab.

4. ‘Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?’ – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, by J. K. Rowling.

5. ‘Do I dare / disturb the universe?’ – ‘The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock’, by T. S. Eliot. I think the narrator’s conclusion here is that no, he does not dare, but if you take it out of context it’s a badass quote.

And a sixth, from the same poem, which isn’t really inspiring but is my favourite opening to a poem ever:

6. ‘Let us go, then, you and I,
When the evening is spread out against the sky,
Like a patient etherised upon a table’

 

