Have you ever gone through a reading slump?

I’m going through one right now, and while it’s not my first one I still don’t really know how to fix it. I’ve read two books in the past 2.5 weeks and, while they were both books I really wanted to read and should have really enjoyed, I found it difficult to get into them and had to force myself to sit down and read. Now I’ve got another book I have to finish by Friday so I can get it back to the library before I go on holiday, and I’m all of two chapters in. Again, it’s something I was looking forward to reading after ploughing through the first in the series in less than two days.

At any rate, this is why I’ve not been posting as much as usual lately – and, unless I snap out of this in the next week I probably won’t post again until after Victoria Day weekend, as I’ll be on holiday for a fortnight. I just haven’t really felt enthusiastic about books or bookish stuff. I’m hardly checking my Tumblr and Twitter (where I follow pretty much exclusively bookish people), I’m not reading all the blog posts in my inbox, and I haven’t written anything in weeks. This last one might actually be contributing to my slump; I feel like I can’t get anything down on the page, so when I read I’m more likely to feel inadequate next to the words in front of me. That said, much of the time when I sit down to read I don’t even get that far, because I can barely seem to even focus on the words enough to process them.

Usually I find the best way to deal with a slump is to make myself sit and read for a decent amount of time; pretty soon I get sucked into the story and don’t want to stop reading. That’s not been happening to me this time round, sadly. Perhaps it’s just the stress of so many other things in my life that’s just making it hard for me to focus in general. Good thing my sister’s insisting on taking me with her to yoga next week πŸ˜‰

Has anyone else experienced a reading slump before? If so, do you have any suggestions to combat it?

10 thoughts on “Have you ever gone through a reading slump?

  1. Yes! Sometimes I just get burnt out n reading. For me, it’s usually because I am reading a lot of the same genre and I need a break from it or because I am really stressed. If it’s stress induced it’s usually because I feel guilty for reading when I know I have a million and one things I need to be doing instead! Maybe you could try picking up a book you normally wouldn’t read. Or one that’s way down on your to be read pile.

    Like

    1. That’s a good idea. I’ve been reading a lot of YA SF/F lately (don’t I always? πŸ˜› ) so maybe I should try one of the books on my litfic/classics “to read” list; you know, the kind of books you think you should read because they look worthwhile, but never get around to because why would you when there are hot vampires to read about instead? πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The best way I usually get over the feeling is not to force it. I’ll just do something else and not worry about reading. So what if the book goes back to the library unfinished? I’ll get it back eventually. Play video games or go for a walk or watch television or hang out with friends. Forcing it just doesn’t work for me.

    Like

    1. I think the not forcing it is important. It’s hard to do, though, when I feel like it’s my only chance to read a book. The one I have out right now is from the library in the city I work in, which is in kind of a rural area so they still charge you to reserve books. Returning it and getting it again feels like a waste of 30p. What can you buy with 30p these days anyway? Half a pint of milk?

      Similarly, I’ve been trying to cut down on my book buying lately so I’ve put 4 books on hold at the library in my hometown, so I “have” to read them in the two weeks I’m home or miss my chance. Yeah, because I’m never visiting my parents again, and if I want to read them that badly I can just go out and buy them.

      And, yeah, typing that out makes it really clear how minor the consequences of not finishing these books is, compared to the stress of trying to make myself finish them. I should just go catch up on Grimm instead πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Usually the cure for me is ya vampire books. I don’t know why but reading a good ya paranormal romance is both my guilty pleasure and something that draws me back to reading. I also find rereading helps too!

    Like

    1. Funnily enough, I actually tried re-reading Vampire Academy to get out of the slump and got maybe three chapters in πŸ˜‰ I do find re-reading to be hit-or-miss; sometimes revisiting a favourite world is just what I need, while other times I need to become so invested in learning the outcome of the story that I can’t put it down.

      Actually, though, you’ve given me an idea: I have the hardcover of The Bane Chronicles on my bookshelf and I’ve been meaning to read them for ages. They’re short stories, so I can pick it up and read one or two when I feel like it without the commitment of a novel. I might try that ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi! I have definitely had reading slumps, and to cure them, I switch to a different genre. For example, not long ago I had read a lot of fiction books, and was getting into a slump, where new fiction wasn’t holding my interest. So I read The Snowden Files, and then Brain on Fire, both non-fiction and gripping (actually, I found the Snowden Files a bit slow, but it was still different enough that I got through it). And then, I read a couple of really heart-warming YA books written in the 1950s, so that now, I’m back into the fiction I love. Hope that helped. Good luck!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the comment! Sorry I’m so late replying; because of the whole not-really-reading thing I’ve been falling behind on the book blogging, too. I seem to be over the slump for now, but I’ll keep non-fiction in mind next time it happens, as I have quite a lot of non-fiction books I mean to read that always get shunted to the side in favour of fiction.

      Like

Leave a Reply

