This is a difficult post for me to write, as I don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings or step on any toes, but I also don’t want to ignore this matter any longer.

I’ve been nominated for a couple of blog awards for the past few months and, while I appreciate the recognition, I’ve been hesitant to officially “accept” by answering the questions and passing on the nomination to other bloggers. I’ve been struggling to put my finger on why I’m so bothered by something designed to encourage each other and share interesting blogs with others, but I think this post helped me understand my hesitation:

You see, to some folks, these blog awards resemble chain letters. And nobody likes chain letters. While you and I might understand that these awards are coming from a good place, a way to share your favorite blogs with your readers, some people just don’t see it that way. And the last thing I want to do is make anyone uncomfortable, good intentions or not.

This is part of my discomfort, but also the flipside to it: although some people might be irritated at being nominated for awards, others will feel excluded when all the bloggers they follow seem to be posting about the same award and they themselves are not nominated for it.

As I said a couple of weeks ago, this blog is meant to be fun and I’m trying to keep it that way, not just for me but also my followers. It’s not fun to agonise over whom to nominate and worry they’ll take it the wrong way, and it’s not fun for others to read lists of nominees and see that they have, once again, been passed over by other bloggers.

I want to thank Summer at Xingsings for nominating me for the Liebster Award, and Blaise at The Book Boulevard for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger Award. I’m truly touched that both of you thought my blog was worthy of nomination. I just don’t feel comfortable perpetuating these awards for the reasons outlined above.

