2016 Reading Goals March Update

Wow, can you believe we’re two months into 2016 already?

At the beginning of the year, I set myself a few reading goals for 2016. Now that we’re a sixth of the way through the year, it seems a good time to revisit them and see how I’m doing.

I’ve read 19 books so far this year, which according to Goodreads means I’m three books ahead of schedule. I’ve read five books by authors of colour, which is well over a sixth of my goal of 13 (though four of them were in a single quartet, so I’m not sure that ‘counts’, as it’s actually only two different writers), and three books from outside my comfort zone, which is again more or less on track.

If you’re interested, this is what I’ve read so far this year:

2016 reading goals 1-1

TruthwitchCurtsies & ConspiraciesBones & BreathThe Ladies of Grace Adieu 

2016 reading goals 1-2

Waistcoats & WeaponryManners & MutinyWinterspellFrozen Tides

2016 reading goals 1-3

A Book of Spirits and Thieves | Blank Canvas | Gates of Thread and Stone

2016 reading goals 1-4

A Spy in the House | The Body at the Tower | The Traitor in the Tunnel | Rivals in the City

2016 reading goals 1-5

Soulless | Changeless | Kingdom of Ashes | A Thousand Nights

12 thoughts on “2016 Reading Goals March Update

  1. Wow, 19 books! That’s amazing! So far I’ve read 9 out of my goal of 30. (My challenge was also 30 last year and I ended up reading 36, so I decided to stick to it again.) How are you liking the Gail Carriger series? I bought the first two books in that series recently!

    Like

  2. 19??!! yay! Good for you Nicola! All the books look great. Especially Winter Spell and GoTaS! Like Summer, I’ve only read 9 so far. Well my goal is only 30 because I’m having a very DNFish time right now. Six months already. Why am I being so picky??? UGH

    Like

    1. Ughh, that’s the worst. Maybe try reading something in a genre you don’t normally read? Sometimes I find I can get fatigued by reading a lot of books in the same genre that they all just kind of feel the same and uninspiring, even though they’re great books.

      Like

  3. You’re doing GREAT!! What did you think of TRUTHWITCH? I’ve kinda heard some mixed things about it, and I have it sitting on my bookshelf. I’m 90% sure I’m going to LOVE it, though (it seems right up my alley.) I also have A THOUSAND AND ONE NIGHTS and I’m curious to see how it’ll compare to THE WRATH AND THE DAWN.

    Like

    1. I really enjoyed TRUTHWITCH. I’m a huge fan of Susan Dennard’s other series, SOMETHING STRANGE AND DEADLY, so I had pretty high hopes and wasn’t disappointed.

      A THOUSAND NIGHTS was really good, too, and quite different to THE WRATH AND THE DAWN; the cover/blurb makes it sound like a romance, but Lo-Melkhiin barely even appears.

      Like

  4. Ooh, yay for being ahead on your goal! I’m a few books ahead of mine too. xD Juuust the way I like it, hehe. My overachieving soul always wants to be ahead. AHEM. But oooh, what did you think of Truthwitch? And I REALLY want to read Gates of Thread and Stone someday! I’ve heard it’s amazing. 🙂

    Like

    1. It took me a while to get into TRUTHWITCH, but then I loved it!

      As for GATES OF THREAD AND STONE, I just bought the sequel, so that should give an indication of how good it was 😉

      Like

    1. Thanks! I was actually behind my goal for a while in January, and I’m sure I’ll fall behind again at some point, but right now I feel good about being ahead of my goal 🙂

      Like

  5. Wow! Congrats on surpassing your goals! I love this collection of books that you have read so far. There are many of my favourites here and a few that I hope to read as well! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

